Photo Galleries
News Sports Open Forum Obituaries Legal Notices Events
Tuesday | October 21, 2014SEARCH  




Counter copies
Letters to the Editor
Our Location


Mission Statement
Click for Outing, Minnesota Forecast
National Newspaper AssociationMN Newspaper Association

The Northland Press is a legally adjudicated newspaper

Area Election Filings: Three to run for Crosslake mayor

Web posted August 19, 2014
By Kate Perkins, Northland Press Correspondent

Crosslake will have an active election this fall as three residents will run for mayor and five will run for two city council seats.

The filing period for area residents to register for mayoral, city council or township board races closed Tuesday, Aug. 12. Listings of who will run, and what for, are in.

Crosslake’s mayoral candidates include Darrell Schneider, incumbent; Steve Roe, a current council member; and Darrin Mitchell.

Two city council seats are up for grabs: council member Steve Roe’s seat and council member John Moengen’s seat. Candidates include: Brad Nelson, David Schrupp, Douglas Steele; Darrell Shannon and Jeff Bisson.

Moengen did not file to run again for Crosslake city government. Peter Abler and Patty Norgaard had filed to run for council, but both withdrew.

In Fifty Lakes, mayor Ken Hersey and council members Jodie Schrupp and Les Degner will see their current terms end with the close of 2014.

Two people filed for mayor of Fifty Lakes: Tim Anick and Richard “Dick” Schiller. Six filed to compete for the two open council seats: Steve Biwer, current mayor Ken Hersey, Steven “Skip” O’Bryan, Gordy Reller, incumbent Jodie Schrupp and Fred E. Strohmeier. Les Degner did not file.

Only one person filed to run for mayor in the City of Emily: Roger “Buddy” Lund. Incumbent George Pepek did not file. Current council members Jan Mosman and Dan Barrett’s terms are ending, and five people will compete for those two seats: incumbents Mosman and Barrett will both run again, as will Bill Spiess, Russ Gustafson and Laura A. C. Leckband.

Only incumbents filed to run in Manhattan Beach. Mayor Paul Allen and council members Clyde Brodt and Marlene Yurek were the only ones to file for their own seats.

In Pine River, the mayor’s seat and three council seats are up for grabs. Incumbent mayor Jim Saban did not file to run again, however, current council member Tamara Hansen and Lynn M. Hollaran filed to run for mayor. Because Hansen’s term would not have ended until 2016, the council will have to appoint a new member if Hansen wins. If she does not win, she’ll keep her current seat on the council until her term ends.

Three people will run for two council seats: incumbents Tony Desanto and Patty Melby, plus Mark S. Edwards.

Pine River also has a special election. Because council member Ron Derksen resigned his seat less than two years into his term, that seat will be up for election. It’s been filled since Derksen’s resignation by Tammy Hamilton. She’ll run for that seat along with Debra Ostlund and Gary Siltman.

Jenkins’ only candidate for mayor is incumbent Jon Lubke. Four residents will run for two council seats: William Ellis, Tim Hidde, Charles Hoffman and Donna Stricker. Jenkins will hold a special election for a third council seat, and only one resident is running for that position: Christopher Teich.

According to the Secretary of State website, Connie Glass and Dave Schaumberg filed for reelection in Crooked Lake Township but one seat remains open. Little Pine Township has three open seats: two town supervisor seats and one town treasurer position. Norman Hawley and Harold Leblanc both filed for a supervisor seat and Nan Hawley filed for the treasurer position.

In Jenkins Township, William “Bill” Savage was the only person to file for the treasurer position, and Edward Walton was the only person to file for the available super-

More Top Stories

Northland Press  |  P.O. Box 145 | Outing, MN  56662  |  (218) 692-5842