Photo Galleries
News Sports Open Forum Obituaries Legal Notices Events
Tuesday | October 28, 2014SEARCH  




Counter copies
Letters to the Editor
Our Location


Mission Statement
Click for Outing, Minnesota Forecast
National Newspaper AssociationMN Newspaper Association

The Northland Press is a legally adjudicated newspaper

Cass and Crow Wing Counties Primary Election Results

Web posted August 19, 2014
By Kate Perkins, Northland Press Correspondent

The primary election was held Tuesday, Aug. 12, and results are in. Of Cass and Crow Wing counties, Crow Wing was the only county to have a county-specific race, which was for county recorder.

Brian Wallin, Mark Liedl and Doug Hansen competed in the primary, with Hansen and Liedl coming out on top. Hansen received 1,463 votes, while Liedl received 1,454 and Wallin received 1,271. Hansen and Liedl will compete for the position this fall.

In the Republican gubernatorial candidate race, Cass and Crow Wing counties stayed in line with state results:

Jeff Johnson: 30.33 percent
Kurt Zellers: 23.92 percent
Marty Seifert: 21.1 percent
Scott Honour: 20.84 percent
Merrill Anderson: 3.8 percent

In Crow Wing County:
Jeff Johnson: 35.97 percent
Kurt Zellers: 25.39 percent
Marty Seifert: 17.26 percent
Scott Honour: 17.04 percent
Merrill Anderson: 4.34 percent

In Cass County:
Jeff Johnson: 35.67 percent
Kurt Zellers: 27.83 percent
Marty Seifert: 16.38 percent
Scott Honour: 14.71 percent
Merrill Anderson: 5.41 percent

Mike McFadden will be the next Republican candidate for U.S. Senator, running against Al Franken. McFadden won by a landslide both statewide and in Cass and Crow Wing.

Mike McFadden: 71.74 percent
Jim Abeler: 14.79 percent
David Carlson: 9.1 percent
Patrick D. Munro: 2.8 percent
O. Savior: 1.57 percent

In Crow Wing County:
Mike McFadden: 77.09 percent
Jim Abeler: 11.49 percent
David Carlson: 7.9 percent
Patrick D. Munro: 1.98 percent
O. Savior: 1.54 percent

In Cass County:
Mike McFadden: 73.46 percent
David Carlson: 12.54 percent
Jim Abeler: 9.94 percent
Patrick D. Munro: 2.59 percent
O. Savior: 1.47 percent

All primary election results are listed online at minnesotaelectionresults.sos.state.mn.us.

More Top Stories

Northland Press  |  P.O. Box 145 | Outing, MN  56662  |  (218) 692-5842